Saturday, October 3, 2009

Anita O'Day - Once Upon A Summertime, 1963

1. Sweet Georgia Brown 2:56
2. Love for Sale 3:12
3. 'S Wonderful 3:09
4. They Can't Take That Away from Me 1:46
5. Boogie Blues 4:34
6. Tea for Two 5:33
7. Once upon a Summertime 2:02
8. The Girl from Ipanema 2:50
9. Is You Is or Is You Ain't My Baby? 4:24
10. Night and Day 1:59
11. Anita's Blues 3:35
12. A Nightingale Sang in Berkeley Square 2:34

Anita O'Day - Vocals
Ray Dewey - Piano
Kirk Lightsey - Piano
Stan Tracy - Piano
Red Wooten - Bass
George Morrow - Bass
Lennie Bush - Bass
John Poole - Drums

"This album is definitely a transitional one for Anita O'Day. Four of the dozen performances are taken from June 1963. Her trio joins the singer on four of her "hits" ("Sweet Georgia Brown," "Boogie Blues," "Tea for Two" and "A Nightingale Sang in Berkeley Square"), which were O'Day's final recordings until 1970 due to personal problems. The remainder of this set is from 1975-76, with several trios backing O'Day on a repertoire dominated by swing standards. Although her voice was not as young, O'Day was still in good form at that point, making this album a worthwhile acquisition for her fans."

1 - 12


No comments:

Post a Comment